Recipe: Pumpkin Butter

I woke up just craving pumpkin butter on buttered toast, no idea why. So considering I have about a dozen cans of pumpkin (thank you Mom!) its been too easy to keep making pumpkin recipes…I’m going to be orange before the end of the month! Sure fresh (frozen) puree would be better but around here pumpkins were expensive this year, so canned will have to do.

If you ever Google this your in for a treat. There are probably a thousand different ways to make it, mostly variations of the same theme, none of which actually involves butter from what I can see. 🙂 So it was off to create my own…and this is what I came up with. Spiced just right (more pumpkin pie like and less spicy), not too sweet, just right I think.

Photobucket

1 1/2 cups (which is (1) 15-oz can) of pumpkin puree
1/4 cup brown sugar (I use dark for everything, just tastes better)
2 tbsp sugar
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp cloves
pinch of ginger
1/4 cup water (only cause I drank the last of the apple cider last night)

Mix all ingredients together and boil over medium heat. Lower the temperature to medium low or low and cook until thick, about 30 minutes or so. Cool and store in the fridge for about a week…enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

