Vintage Recipe: Cheese Cakes

This is from the 1906 edition of the Boston Cooking School Cookbook. Yup another one. It intrigued me.

Photobucket

Original recipe as it reads in the book:

1 cup sweet milk
1 cup sour milk
1 cup sugar
Yolks 4 eggs
Juice and grated rind one lemon
1/4 cup almonds, blanched and chopped
1/4 teaspoon salt

Scald sweet and sour milk, strain through cheesecloth. To curd add sugar, yolks of eggs slightly beaten, lemon and salt. Line patty pans with paste, fill with mixture, and sprinkle with chopped almonds. Bake until mixture is firm to the touch.

You’ll notice it doesn’t state an oven temperature. So I did a slow oven – 325 degrees (link) – and ended up baking it for 3 HOURS! No I’m not kidding. It really didn’t want to firm up until it had been in there that long. And as for the sour milk I just took 1 tbsp of lemon juice and then added enough milk to make one cup, the basic sour milk “recipe”. For sweet milk I used normal milk. According to my research that is about as close as it gets in this day and age, unless you have your own cow. Oh and no almonds as I don’t like nuts. I just bought a frozen pie shell as well since I didn’t feel like making one.

Now what does it taste like?? Like a creamy lemon filling. It definitely doesn’t taste like my regular cheesecake. Never again. Just too much time invested. If it didn’t need to bake for so long maybe I would, it does taste good, just not that good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Vintage

Leave a Reply

