Recipe: Dashi-Glazed Carrots

This is the New York Times recipe that ran along side the dashi article. Its so easy (and delicious!) that I think I might be adding this to my regular menu.

Photobucket

salt
8 ounces carrots, I used “baby” carrots in a pre-sized bag so I didn’t have to peel, cut or measure anything
2 teaspoons butter
1/2 cup dashi (stock)
rice vinegar
1 teaspoon chives (I was out so I used thyme, not the same at all, but added a nice flavor)

Bring a pot of salt water to a boil and toss in the carrots, cook until just tender – about 3 minutes or so. The original recipe stated to then dunk them in ice water to blanch them…I didn’t. I just drained the water. I don’t like blanching much. But if you want to blanch go ahead.

After draining the water turn the heat to high, toss in a teaspoon of butter, let it melt briefly and add the dashi. I use bottled dashi when frankly I could just as easily make it, I just never have. Its on my to do list as I know once I start making it I won’t buy pre-made any longer, its just too easy to use the pre-made stuff.

Cook and stir until the dashi is reduced. Add another teaspoon of butter and melt to coat carrots. Season with salt and a little rice vinegar, toss on the chives and serve!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Recipe: Dashi-Glazed Carrots

  1. Pingback: Bento #75: Dashi Carrots « Pieces of Earth

Leave a Reply

