Recipe: Pumpkin Bread

I adore pumpkin bread! I just love it! Around this time of year I usually make it 2 or 3 times a week – as other than cooking time it takes all of 10 minutes (or less!) to prepare. I prefer to use my own pumpkin puree but this year it looks like that isn’t going to happen as pie pumpkins in this neck of the woods are SO expensive compared to canned. I’m a little saddened but let me show you a trick my grandmother taught me…

Buy more canned pumpkin then you think you will need within the next year and put it on your shelves and forget about it. Next year at this time repeat the procedure but cook with the pumpkin you bought last year. What happens is the pumpkin slowly ages in the can (but it doesn’t expire) giving it a rich, wonderful flavor – just like homemade pumpkin puree. I swear by it! My grandmother did it all of her life (she was born in 1923) and I have since done this as well. All I ever get are compliments asking if I use homemade puree. Try it before you think I’m looney. 🙂

Photobucket

1 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup vegetable oil (I use only canola as its good for the heart)
2 eggs
1/3 cup white sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
pinch of ground ginger
1 2/3 cups flour
1/4 cup chopped walnuts, pecans, raisins, or chocolate chips (optional – I hate nuts and don’t like add ins so I don’t add these)

Combine pumpkin, oil, eggs and sugar. Mix well. Add the remaining ingredients except for flour and stir until well blended. You don’t want someone biting into a chunk of cloves…gross! Add the flour and combine until smooth.

Dump this into a greased 9 x 5 loaf pan – or if your like me make individual loaves. I have 5 x 2 x 2 mini loaf pans that I use for individual servings (look for them in the cookware section of any big box store). Makes great gifts! This recipe will make 3 mini loaves.

If your making 1 big loaf bake at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes to 1 hour. If your making mini loaves bake at 350 degrees F for 20 to 30 minutes, but check them often enough, as they get done rather quickly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

