Recipe: "Mixes" for Coffee Alternatives

Its starting to get cold out now…fall is here and winter will not be far behind!!

Normally then I like having something warm to drink at all times but I prefer to have a little coffee with my cream and sugar. Black coffee is just not my thing I’m afraid. I can appreciate it, I always have. And I love cooking with it, especially when making frosting for cake! But I just can’t stomach black coffee. Alternatively I have a big thing for tea and hot cocoa. So over time I have adapted and picked up recipes for my favorite cold weather drinks – Chai, Hot Chocolate and Mocha Coffee. I’ve even given these recipes (pre-made, of course!) as gifts at Christmas time.

Photobucket

Chai

Not authentic…but close and very good! Since I am a spice snob, as I have documented many a time, I will freshly grind the spices each time I make this. I also have found that putting in ground spices, versus whole, cuts back on the time it takes to steep.

4 regular black tea bags
5 cups water, boiling
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
pinch of black pepper
3 tbsp sugar
Milk, to taste

Add tea bags to the water and steep for 30 minutes, covered. Add the spices and steep for 15 more minutes, covered. Remove the tea bags and strain if needed. Add the sugar and milk and serve. Can be served warm or chilled.


Hot Chocolate

A Heloise recipe and just too yummy! Better than anything you buy in the store!!

2 cups powdered milk
1/4 cup powdered baking cocoa
1 cup powdered sugar
1/3 cup non-dairy powdered creamer

Mix and store in an airtight container.

To make an 8 ounce cup add hot water to 4 tablespoons of mix.


Mocha Coffee

Another Heloise recipe. It definitely has a nice kick over plain coffee.

1 cup powdered milk
1/2 cup instant coffee
1/2 cup sugar
2 tbsp powdered baking cocoa

Mix and store in an airtight container.

To make an 8 ounce cup add hot water to 2 tablespoons of mix.

Comments Off on Recipe: "Mixes" for Coffee Alternatives

Filed under Recipe

Comments are closed.