Recipe: Spicy Chicken Fingers

This is a very nice crunchy, hot and spicy, chicken finger recipe. Honestly I don’t know where the original core of this recipe came from, I can’t remember, but I’ve changed things over the years to suit my tastes. Not to mention that each time I make it I may be in the mood for hotter (or milder) than normal so I add (or subtract)  the spice accordingly. I’ve been known to add a little garlic powder, crushed red pepper, cinnamon or even curry, depending on my mood. This is a fun recipe to experiment with.

Photobucket

This is a three bowl dipping and coating recipe so start by taking out those 3 bowls.

In the first bowl combine 2 eggs and 1 cup milk.

In the second dump 2 cups of flour.

Now in the third combine

2 cups crushed corn flakes
2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp chili powder

Typically I just pulse this in my food processor; mixes and crushes the corn flakes all in one step.

Next cut about 1 pound of chicken breasts into strips (or buy pre-cut if you like). To coat each strip dip into the flour, the egg mixture, the flour again, then the egg mixture again and finally the corn flakes mixture. Once you get to the corn flakes stage make sure you press the mixture into the strip coating all sides. Your fingers or tongs will be COATED with gunk by the time you get to this step so make sure you only do a few strips at a time.

Fry each strip in a little oil over medium until its a light golden brown. Remove to a baking pan and bake at 375 degrees until cooked thoroughly, usually about 30 minutes.

Enjoy! And they can be REALLY spicy or really mild, its all in what you add.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

