Recipe: Baked Apple Couscous Pudding

Its fall. Ok. Its close to fall. But around here its been cold for the last couple of weeks. The kind of cold where I sleep snuggled up, covered in blankets, with my windows open because I’m just not ready to admit defeat yet. The kind of cold where I have to wear jeans and a sweater, but no jacket, just to keep warm outside. The kind of cold where all I wanna do is make hot cocoa and hot chai to drink. The cold where I haven’t flipped my furnace back on and I don’t want to…because that means fall is over and winter is coming.

At any rate. Fall puts me in the mood for apples…and warm things (see referenced hot drinks above!). So since I bought a new cookbook the other day I decided to christen it by making this BEYOND EASY “pudding”. I already had all the ingredients so it was a no brainer.

The original recipe comes from 1001 Recipes by Martha Day. Amazon says its not out yet, but I bought mine at a brick and mortar Borders location for all of $4.99. And it (like others from this same publishing company – Hermes House) are worth WAY more than that. I’ve got 6 of their $4.99 Borders specials and they are fantastic to cook from. The only problem? They are British in origin. So some ingredients are called by different names (rocket in the book is usually known as arugula here in the States) or impossible to find (this recipe calls for Mixed Spice – something that basically doesn’t exist here). But I digress as I’m planning on covering all 6 of the ones I own on an upcoming Exploring Cookbooks.

Photobucket

2 1/2 cups apple juice
2/3 cup couscous
1/3 cup raisins
3/4 tsp mixed spice
1 apple, peeled, cored and sliced
2 tbsp brown sugar

Mix the juice, couscous, raisins and mixed spice in a saucepan and boil until all the liquid is absorbed.

Set aside enough apple slices to cover the top of your baking dish and chop the rest. Mix into the couscous mixture. Spoon the mixture into a baking dish, evenly distributing the apples and raisins. Add the layer of apples slices to the top and sprinkle with the brown sugar.

Bake at 400 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes.

As you can see I didn’t core my apples…mostly because when I eat apples I eat the core too (yeah, I know, weird, but there’s a lot of good apple there!). I just got rid of the seeds.If you want to core them, go right ahead, it just doesn’t bother me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

