Recipe: Fried Green Tomatoes

I look forward to these all year long! When these:

Photobucket

…become these:

Photobucket

Yes, I know you can grow a variety of green tomato just to do this with year round…but I live in an apartment with no patio and am limited by what people can give me or I can find at the grocery store or farmer’s markets.

Slices of green tomato
cornmeal
salt & pepper
milk (I imagine buttermilk would be lovely!)


In a dish or paper plate mix together the cornmeal and as much salt and pepper as you would like. Typically I use about (I’m approximating) a 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper for every cup of cornmeal. In a separate bowl pour just enough milk to dip the slices of tomato.

For each one your going to dip it into milk then into cornmeal. Press fairly hard to make sure that the entire surface is coated and that the cornmeal mixture is adhering properly.

Fry over medium heat in oil or butter (I prefer canola oil for the heart benefits, but not everyone does) until the surface is just brown and the tomato is soft.

Serve! I love pouring ketchup onto mine…but I know that’s like some great sin, and for some people, a little weird (tomato on tomato action). Eat however you want to of course!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

