Meme: The Omnivore’s Hundred

The Omnivore’s Hundred

1) Copy this list into your blog or journal, including these instructions.
2) Bold all the items you’ve eaten.
3) Cross out any items that you would never consider eating. (I’ve marked ones I really love in red and ones I don’t like much in green)
4) Optional extra: Post a comment at Very Good Taste linking to your results.

Pieces of Earth Omnivore’s Hundred List

  1. Venison (I adore this!)
  2. Nettle tea
  3. Huevos rancheros
  4. Steak tartare
  5. Crocodile (I like this, but it can be kinda salty)
  6. Black pudding (I didn’t like this)
  7. Cheese fondue (dude…the Melting Pot, need I say more??)
  8. Carp (This is Omaha. We eat it like its actual fish, and good fish too!)
  9. Borscht (I hate beets)
  10. Baba ghanoush
  11. Calamari (yummy!!)
  12. Pho
  13. PB&J sandwich (this is how I use up most of my bread)
  14. Aloo gobi
  15. Hot dog from a street cart (yum!!)
  16. Epoisses (I love going to Whole Foods, just for the cheese!)
  17. Black truffle
  18. Pistachio ice cream
  19. Heirloom tomatoes (I’m a tomato FREAK! I eat them like apples!)
  20. Fresh wild berries (I remember going into the mountains and picking these in Colorado as a kid)
  21. Foie gras
  22. Rice and beans
  23. Brawn, or head cheese (gross!!!)
  24. Raw Scotch Bonnet pepper (on a dare by my ex-husband, a pepper and hot sauce freak)
  25. Dulce de leche
  26. Oysters
  27. Baklava (we’ve got a fast food restaurant here that serves this to go!)
  28. Bagna cauda
  29. Wasabi peas (another ex-husband love that I hated)
  30. Clam chowder in a sourdough bowl (I can’t believe how long this has been since I last had it)
  31. Salted lassi (lassi in all forms I love)
  32. Sauerkraut (absolutely! I love Rubens and Bratwurst!)
  33. Root beer float (adore this!! I wonder if A & W is still open at this time of night??)
  34. Cognac
  35. Clotted cream tea
  36. Vodka jelly/Jell-O (I LOATH Jell-o with a passion, GROSS!!)
  37. Gumbo
  38. Oxtail (Thank you to my grandmother!)
  39. Curried goat
  40. Whole insects (yup, weird family…my aunt spent a couple of years in Africa as a missionary)
  41. Phaal
  42. Goat’s milk (I prefer goat cheese but its musky stuff!!)
  43. Malt whisky from a bottle worth £60/$120 or more (my mother’s liquor of choice)
  44. Fugu
  45. Chicken tikka masala
  46. Eel (I absolutely adore eel!!)
  47. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut (way too sugary for me)
  48. Sea urchin (in sushi its amazing! Thank you Michael!!)
  49. Prickly pear
  50. Umeboshi (I can’t get used to it, too salty & sour)
  51. Abalone
  52. Paneer
  53. McDonald’s Big Mac Meal
  54. Spaetzle (dude, I’m German and Irish by heritage…its all over this area – like the Germans and the Pols)
  55. Dirty gin martini (I’ve tried good liquor and cheap liquor and I still think this tastes like cigarette ash)
  56. Beer above 8% ABV
  57. Poutine
  58. Carob chips
  59. S’mores
  60. Sweetbreads (and my grandmother strikes again!)
  61. Kaolin
  62. Currywurst
  63. Durian
  64. Frogs’ legs
  65. Beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cake (YES!)
  66. Haggis
  67. Fried plantain (I made this for a geography class in school many many years ago. It was good and I hate bananas!)
  68. Chitterlings, or andouillette
  69. Gazpacho
  70. Caviar and blini
  71. Louche absinthe
  72. Gjetost, or brunost
  73. Roadkill (yeah…well…sorry…you hit a deer or a pheasant you eat it)
  74. Baijiu
  75. Hostess Fruit Pie (I tend to buy one of these on the way to work sometimes when I haven’t eaten. A guilty pleasure)
  76. Snail
  77. Lapsang souchong
  78. Bellini
  79. Tom yum
  80. Eggs Benedict (I’m going to make Hollandaise sauce in the next few days)
  81. Pocky (I love passing these out at work)
  82. Tasting menu at a three-Michelin-star restaurant
  83. Kobe beef
  84. Hare (down with bunnies!! I hate rabbits…long story involving having a birthday that has fallen on Easter one too many times – like it will next year. But its good eats!)
  85. Goulash (no idea why I hate it, I just do)
  86. Flowers (don’t taste like much)
  87. Horse
  88. Criollo chocolate
  89. Spam
  90. Soft shell crab (one of my favorites but too much work and too expensive in this part of the country)
  91. Rose harissa
  92. Catfish (hate it…too salty for me)
  93. Mole poblano (eh…its great if its good…but only half of it might be. Most recipes suck)
  94. Bagel and lox (god how I love lox! I eat this every Christmas eve for breakfast…its a tradition I started when I moved out on my own)
  95. Lobster Thermidor
  96. Polenta (making some tomorrow actually)
  97. Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee (not much of a coffee drinker, mostly tea)
  98. Snake (yummy, yummy, yummy…and it can be salty)

The problem I have with this list is that I really will eat anything once, just to say I’ve tried it. The ones I haven’t I just never came across.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meme

Leave a Reply

