Recipe: Sloppy Joes

I love sloppy joes. Yes, I know that the “official” sandwich of Iowa is the Maid-Rite/loose meat/tavern/whatever – and mine is GOOD! Yes I am biased. But I like tomato based ones once and awhile. Just get a craving for them that I can’t help.

Now I have used 2 different recipes (recipe 1 and recipe 2) and both are VERY GOOD. You really can’t go wrong with either one on their own. But my version is a mixture of the best parts of both, in my opinion anyway.

Photobucket

1 pound ground beef
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper, optional (sometimes I like it, sometimes I don’t)
1/4 cup chopped tomato, optional (sometimes I like it, sometimes I don’t)
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
1 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp water (omit if adding tomato or if you like thicker sauce)
1 tsp prepared mustard
3/4 cup ketchup

First brown the hamburger over high until it just loses the pink. Add the onion and bell peppers and cook until the vegetables are tender and hamburger is browned.

While that’s cooking I usually mix the remaining ingredients in a bowl and pour over the hamburger mixture once cooked. Add tomatoes at this time if desired. Stir and let simmer for 10 to 15 minutes on medium heat, just til it gets hot, but watch it and stir often! The high sugar content means it can burn easily.

Scoop onto hamburger buns and enjoy!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

