Recipe: Pad Thai-Style Rice Salad

This is a NY Times recipe and was published in a set of 3 rice salad recipes (I will post the others as I make them). I didn’t like certain things about the original (like I hate nuts and cilantro), also I’m not inclined to purchase 1 ingredient (like the tamarind) when I will very likely never use it in another recipe. So this became my version:

Photobucket

1 1/2 to 2 cups jasmine rice, cooked
5 tbsp of a neutral oil (just used to grease the pan)
2 eggs, scrambled
4 garlic cloves, minced finely
1/4 pound shrimp, peeled and chopped
1/4 pound chicken meat, chopped (I used 1 leg and thigh and that seemed to be enough)
4 scallions, bean sprout length
1 cup bean sprouts
2 tbsp fish sauce
1 tbsp ketchup
1/4 cup lime juice
1/4 cup water
2 chilies, sliced thin (I used Serrano as that’s all I had but recipe calls for Thai)

Cook the rice however you like. I can’t cook rice on the stove top so I use a rice cooker. Perfect every time. When its done rinse it in cold water to cool it off and toss into the serving bowl.

Heat up a skillet to medium and toss in some oil to prevent sticking. Add the scrambled eggs and cook. Scramble into SMALL pieces as you go and toss it onto the rice. Turn up the heat to high and add more oil. Brown the garlic and shrimp until just done and shrimp are cooked through and toss onto the rice. Add more oil and the chicken. Cook until done. Next “fry up” the scallions and half the bean sprouts (I did all of them as I like cooked bean sprouts) for about 3 minutes or until just cooked and toss onto the growing mound in the bowl.

In the pan add the remaining ingredients and cook down slightly, about 1 to 2 minutes. Pour over the rice salad and toss to coat. Add fresh, uncooked, bean sprouts to garnish if you like.

It was good both warm and as a leftover and is an AMAZING and beautiful recipe!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

