Exploring Cookbooks: 1976 The Best of the Best

This is basically a compilation of recipes from Family Circle or so the introduction states. I found this lovely gem at yet another thrift store – they are gold mines for vintage cookbooks that some think are no longer relevant in today’s foodie world. I disagree. You can learn a lot about history and about food, just by reading some of these old recipes. But I digress.

There are LOADS of great recipes in this book. I had an incredibly difficult time picking out the 10 or so pages I wanted to highlight. Basically I was looking for recipes that didn’t “bleed over” onto another page (therefore causing more photos, etc.) but were incredibly good and worth highlighting. It wasn’t easy. Included in this book are recipes for Hamburger 21 from the 21 Club in New York, Craig Claiborne’s real Tex Chili (good recipe!), James Beard’s spinach roll with creamed mushrooms, Burt Reynolds’ (yep THAT Burt Reynolds) parmesan garlic bread, Chocolate Mousse from Fauchon’s in Paris and the list just goes on and on!

I need to apologize for some of the pictures being slightly fuzzy. I was having a heck of a time with the lighting, sigh, again. I need to come up with a better plan in the future I think! Something needs improving. That’s my new goal – solve some of my photography woes. If you see something and can’t read it right, let me know. I will attempt to solve it.

Photobucket

More pictures and recipes after the jump…

Photobucket
Helen Feingold’s Barbecued Chicken Drumettes, Helen McCully’s Own Special Quiche and Peg Bracken’s “Best and Easiest” Canape. I *really* want to make the canape recipe soon. It sounds yummy…and the best part…EASY!

Photobucket
Bill Johnston’s Manhattan Clam Chowder and Marcella Hazan’s Minestrone.

Photobucket
Tex-Mex Guacamole Salad (real guacamole and that’s all!), Jean Anderson’s Green Goddess Salad Dressing and the first page of the Main Dishes section – it goes on for 2 more pages.

Photobucket
John Clancy’s Sensational Stuffed Pork Chops and the Best Corned Beef Hash.

Photobucket
Horikawa’s Sukiyaki and Horikawa’s Tempura (continues in the next photo). Something I MUST try soon!

Photobucket
Tempura Batter and dipping sauce and Grace Chu’s Shrimp Chop Suey.

Photobucket
Helen McCully’s Rich Strawberry Shortcake and Helen Feingold’s Chocolate-Dipped Strawberries.

Photobucket
Lutece’s Miniature Orange Souffles and Marie Walsh’s Scientifically Super Brownies.

1 Comment

Filed under Exploring Cookbooks

One response to “Exploring Cookbooks: 1976 The Best of the Best

  1. I LOVE this book! I think we have the only two copies in existence. 🙂

Leave a Reply

