Review: Chicago Dawg House

There was a review published on this restaurant on Friday June 13, 2008 in the Omaha World Herald (link) that was just as favorable as what I was planning on writing…and she’s a professional so you may want to listen to her over me…but I do know good food when I have it!

My first honest to goodness restaurant review! First the details:

Address: 3113 N. 108th St. (Next to Bag N Save on Maple & 108th)
Pricing: $3 to $3.50 for a hot dog and approximately $4.50 for a sausage, bratwurst, chicken or catfish. Fries and onion rings both run around $1.50 depending on which type and size you buy. You will need to order at least 2 hot dogs per person if your hungry.
Hours: 10:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays; 10:30 a.m. to 9 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays; noon to 7 p.m. Sundays
Website Link – the pricing on their website is slightly different than the actual pricing in store

*I apologize for the quality of the pictures – the place is always REALLY busy and I’ve been too embarrassed to take out my digital camera so I ended up taking these with my cell phone instead.

My aunt has lived in Chicago since the early 1960s – except for a brief time living in Colorado when I was a kid in the early and mid-90s – and is a true Chicagoan. It is because of her that I know what a Chicago hot dog is and what one should taste like (its also because of her that I am a Cubs fan)! Its a Vienna-brand beef hot dog topped with peppers, tomatoes, onion, a dill pickle, BRIGHT green pickle relish (which is SO good!), mustard and celery salt on a poppy seed bun. No you won’t find another dog like this anywhere…and that’s the appeal. And Chicago Dawg House’s is PERFECT. It IS a Chicago style hot dog!

And this is a chili cheese dog! Its beanless chili (the way it should be!) topped with goopy cheese – what I usually call “cheese soup” and not just your standard cheddar cheese (see the Sonic dog below). I prefer “cheese soup” – its got the cheese kick that this dog needs. Of course I topped it with ketchup – a big no no to some!

The “kitchen” is of to the left when you enter and you get to watch them make every order in front of you. Along the right side is a counter with bar stools for you to eat on site (but everything can be ordered To Go as well), complete with flat screen TVs to watch ESPN. The wall above the kitchen is FILLED with signed photos of Cubs players (and a few Bears).

On the counter are ketchup and mustard squeeze bottles and paper towel holders – no napkins here!

The only complaint I have about this place is that they use styrofoam cups. Guess I just won’t order drinks there!

Will I go back? Yup. I already have!! And if your in the Omaha area give this place a chance, you’ll never regret it!!

3 Comments

Filed under Restaurant, Review

3 responses to “Review: Chicago Dawg House

  1. Brian

    Thanks for your review, and I’ve read a lot of reviews about Chicago Dawg House. I especially like the point you made about the styrofoam cups. All the reviews I’ve read about the Dawg House are all so favorable that I feel like I have to chime in with one aspect of the dining experience — and it’s an important one — that has been repeatedly horrible about this place:

    Like the rest of the restaurant reviewers on Chicago Dawg House, I have no complaints about the food. It’s tasty, spicy and unique to the Omaha area. I knew about it before the local paper wrote about it, and wish the World-Herald never would have.

    The article created such a flood of business that the restaurant ran out of supplies and closed for two days following the publish date of the article. This was the first sign that management is killing a good product.

    Before the place ever got busy, the service was always leaving you wanting more. I just chalked that up to it being a new business and new employees still trying to figure out how to run a smooth operation.

    I thought the long delays in waiting to be greeted by a cashier to take my order would subside, but four months later, nobody is ever ready to take my order when I get there, nor do they ever seem to be in a hurry to get to the counter to get orders placed while the others cook. Normally, this would be the end of my dining relationship with any restaurant, but this one plays to a soft spot I have. It’s a Chicago Cubs-themed atmosphere. Add that their food is excellent, and I was willing to give them my patience.

    After eating there today, I am severing that chord. For the second time in as many trips (I’ve been there at least 10 times), I went there to watch the Cubs game with friends, today the rival St. Louis Cardinals. Despite the hanging basket reminiscent of the one that catches home runs at Wrigley Field that lines the border of the eating area, the game was not on TV. Today, Book TV was on instead of the Cubs. Get a freaking clue. If you’re going to market to Cubs fans, and not have the game on when they play the Cardinals (or anyone for that matter), you’ve lost all your credibility with me.

    Adding to a miserable experience today was that I was told for the second time in as many days that I couldn’t order the Butkus, a spicy Italian brat full of yummy goodness, because they were out of supply. Still not learning lessons from their previous supply snafu. Time to find a new supplier (or perhaps a new store manager)?

    I went with a sandwich instead — The Sandberg. So when I went to present my punch card when I paid for my food, I was told by whoever was in charge today that the punch card is only good with hot dogs. I told him I came for a hot dog the past two days, but they didn’t have the one I wanted. Instead of him just giving me a courtesy punch, I get a sob story about what a dingbat the supplier is they work with. Very professional. That kind of leadership all trickles downhill, too. When I came in earlier in the week and close to closing time, I was turned away from ordering because they just got done cleaning the grill and any order I placed would not be worth the wait. Let’s be honest, we’re dealing in hot dogs here. How long could it possibly freaking take? Apparently a long time, because I waited 35 minutes a different time for a Butkus and a traditional dog about a month ago.

    I’ve given this restaurant ample business, introducing several friends to a place we all wanted to come to to rally behind our Cubbies. I’ve also given Chicago Dawg House ample opportunity to restore my loyalty as a customer. They’ve failed miserably, getting worse with every return trip, so much so that before I go out on a Saturday night, I felt it was my duty to post something about this place to prevent people from having the multiple sour experiences I have trying to get a good G.D. hot dog.

    Until they get some order behind the counter, complete with people skills and assigned roles to each staff member (hint: have one person take orders and help customers while the other two make orders — one make the fries, one make the hot dogs) or someone with enough of a brain to have the game on at a Cubby join — don’t let the allure of this great food suck you in. Avoid it like the plague.

  2. Owner

    Brian…I’m sorry you had to write such a harsh review. I’d like the opportunity to sit with you at your convenience to discuss your issues. I’m sure once you see the back end of running a business, your comments may change. I’ve yet to hear anyone else have such complaints so please give me the opportunity to address specifically your concerns.

    Thanks.

  3. Interesting website!! will come back soon.

Leave a Reply

