Exploring Cookbooks: 1968 Time Life Foods of the World – The Cooking of Vienna's Empire

I’ve already written the (semi) complete history of these books. This edition was written by Joseph Wechsberg.

This is another cookbook I have honestly never used. The recipes don’t appeal to my pallete much, but I’m sure they taste great for those that appreciate this fine food!! Its almost a combination of German, Italian and Russian cooking, very rich and hearty. And mostly the kind of thing I would eat in the fall or winter months.

Each image links to a larger picture if you want to read or use the recipe.

Photobucket

Each spiral bound book measures 9 inches by 6 inches and is about 1/4 inch thick.

More photos, recipes and information after the jump…

Photobucket

Maikos es Dios Kalacs – poppy seed or almond nut roulade

Photobucket

Feherkenyer – Hungarian white bread and Speckkondel – bacon dumplings.

Photobucket

Geschmorter Schweinsbraten mit Kapern – braised pork roast with paprika, capers and caraway. Selchfleisch – smoked pork with pureed split peas.

Photobucket

Znojemsky Gulas – beef goulash with gerkins and Lovacki Djuvec – Hunter’s Stew. I really despise goulash but when I showed these recipes to people who love it they literally salavated just thinking about it.

Photobucket

Bogracs Gulyas – Kettle goulash and Szekely Gulyas – Transylvanian goulash.

Photobucket

Toltott Kaposzta – pork stuffed cabbage rolls and Lecso – tomato and green pepper ragout. The latter recipe is a very classic one and one I actually like, yes, even though its similar to many goulashs, which I can’t stand. I can’t explain why I like one and not the other, your guess is as good as mine.

Photobucket

Topfenpalatschinken – cottage cheese pancakes, Palacsintak Barackizzel – apricot pancakes, Kaiserschmarrn – Emperor’s pancake. These made me hungry just reading them!! I think I will have to attempt them sometime soon.

Photobucket

Gugelhupf – coffee ring and Tascherln – Viennese jam pockets. Delicious!

Photobucket

The famous yummy Strudel!

Photobucket

Indianerkrapfen – Indian puffs with whipped cream and Ischler Tortchen – Ischl tartlets.

Leave a comment

Filed under Exploring Cookbooks

Leave a Reply

