Exploring Cookbooks: 1968 Time Life Foods of the World – The Cooking of Provincial France

I’ve already written the (semi) complete history of this series of books. This happens to be the first one released in the series and was written by the illustrious M.F.K. Fisher.

Photobucket

Each spiral bound book measures 9 inches by 6 inches and is about 1/4 inch thick.
More after the cut including full photos of select pages.


Honestly I have never made a single recipe out of this book though I have made several of these recipes and do know that the versions presented here are better than the ones I used. Some of these are very classic French recipes and I could not help posting them. Its easy to see why this book and this series is so sought after by collectors after reading this book.

Each image links to a larger picture if you want to read or use the recipes.

Photobucket

Saucisson en Croûte (sausage baked in pastry crust) and Fondue de Fromage (French style cheese fondue)

Photobucket

Quiche au Fromage (open faced cheese tart) and Salade Niçoise (mediterranean vegetable salad)

Photobucket

Soufflé au Fromage (cheese soufflé) and Anchoyade (hot anchovy canapé)

Photobucket

Crêpes Fourrées Gratinées (filled French pancakes), Duxelles and Velouté sauce

Photobucket

Coq au Vin à la Bourguignonne (chicken simmered in red wine with onions and mushrooms)

Photobucket

Boeuf Bourguignon (beef stew with red wine)

Photobucket

Champignons Farcis (baked stuffed mushroom caps)

Photobucket

Carottes Glacées (glazed carrots) and Oignons Glacés à Blanc (glazed white onions) on the left. Pommes de Terre ANna (crusty molded potatoes) on the right.

Photobucket

Profiteroles (cream-puff pastry rosettes) and Compote de Fruits (fruit poached in vanilla syrup)

Photobucket

Mousse au Chocolat (chocolate mousse). There are two indexes, the English one first then one with the French recipe titles.

7 Comments

Filed under Exploring Cookbooks

7 responses to “Exploring Cookbooks: 1968 Time Life Foods of the World – The Cooking of Provincial France

  1. Joanne

    Hi. Not sure what this site is all about. I came across it because I was looking to buy the metal spiral bound recipe books in this series. I have the hard covers but not the spiral bound. Would you be interested in selling them?

  2. karmatir

    My cookbooks aren’t for sale. I just like show casing them so that others can get a feel for them or discover recipes. That’s all.

  3. Andy

    Thanks for showcasing these books. Most of them are for sale on Amazon by the used booksellers. Many can be had for a buck or two, plus $4 shipping.

    I’ve enjoyed the few I own. I’m tempted to buy a few from Amazon to flesh out my collection, but they’re much more fun to stumble upon at garage sales, estate sales, and thrift shops.

  4. janice

    I need the recipe for french onion soup for christmas. my mm died and it was her favorite recipe and we’re away from home. please reply

  5. janice

    this was my mom’s favorite recipe ad she died in may. please help me make it for her french onion soup

  6. John Holland

    Hi,
    I made the terrine from the Time Life Cooking of Provincial France many years ago and it was wonderful, but I lost the book in one move or another. Would you be able to send me that recipe? I would be very grateful.

    Thanks

  7. Dana

    I thought I had saved this recipe over the years but when I went to find my copy of Provincial France book (the only one of the eries I had saved, specifically for the Chocolate Mousse recipe) I no longer had it. It was one of life’s BIG losses – but only for a few minutes because I google searched your recipe – I couldn’t believe my good fortune. A Christmas miracle. I cannot thank you enough for giving me this recipe back. It is a change your life kind of recipe (and I am a professional cook/baker).

Leave a Reply

