Recipe: Hummus

If you look back at any of my previous postings you see hummus quite a lot. I adore making hummus. Its easy, everything is fairly shelf stable and definitely a staple in my kitchen (though I do run out of tahini a lot). All in all an easy, quick snack/side that is wonderful for you! Otherwise there would not be a whole blog dedicated to it!

1 (15 oz) can of chickpeas (about 1 1/2 cups)
1 garlic clove
1/4 cup tahini
1/4 cup lemon juice (about one lemon give or take)
1/4 tsp salt
olive oil to top, if desired

Rinse the chickpeas after opening and process all but the olive oil in a food processor until its as smooth as you can get it. Pour the oil on top as a garnish, if so desired. That’s it. Not dry, crunchy or crumbly. Its need to have a rich, thick, smooth texture.

Taking off the skins will produce a much better product, a lot smoother, a lot richer, and more flavorful. But I’m lazy and rarely do especially since I don’t have a food mill to make this with.

Tahini can be found either near the peanut butter in the grocery section or in the refrigerator section near the tofu a lot of times. If I can get some at my local super market anyone should be able to.

Now I do prefer to let it sit at least overnight to develop its full rich flavor…that doesn’t always happen as I can get hungry for it!! But if you can let it do so, it will taste better.

I like to use red bell pepper slices to dip or carrots and from time to time flat bread but you can use pretty much anything out there and they all taste good…hummus makes everything taste better!!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipe

One response to “Recipe: Hummus

Leave a Reply

