Quotes: Something to say about Food

I don’t like food that’s too carefully arranged; it makes me think that the chef is spending too much time arranging and not enough time cooking. If I wanted a picture I’d buy a painting.
~Andy Rooney

Ham and eggs – A day’s work for a chicken; A lifetime commitment for a pig.
~Anon.

I don’t like gourmet cooking or “this” cooking or “that” cooking. I like good cooking.
~James Beard

The first law of dietetics seems to be: if it tastes good, it’s bad for you.
~Isaac Asimov

Many aspects of my method are based on my feeling and experience. For instance, I always give my bird a generous butter massage before I put it in the oven. Why? Because I think the chicken likes it—and, more important, I like to give it.
~Julia Child

Health food may be good for the conscience but Oreos taste a hell of a lot better.
~Robert Redford

If you ever have to support a flagging conversation, introduce the topic of eating.
~Leigh Hunt

Leave a comment

Filed under Quotes

Leave a Reply

