Recipe: Quick Chili

A very quick chili – all beef, no beans. I was hungry but not interested in making something very labor intensive. This was also a slap dash recipe meaning I have no idea how much I used of anything.

beef, cut into chunks (I used about 1 pound of stew meat)
small can of tomato sauce
frozen onions
frozen red bell peppers
to taste – hot chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, adobo seasoning (and since I’m a spice snob all of these came from Penzey’s Spices)

I dumped all of the meat, sauce and veggies into a pot over medium-high to warm it up and brown the meat. Just as the meat was about cooked through (about 15 mins) I added the spices. Simmered over medium heat for 5 more mins and served. The frozen veggies added all the water needed for the chili making it just the right density. It was no gourmet dinner but it was pretty good and not a bit greasy like some chilis can get.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

