Recipe: Eel Maki

First off I apologize for the quality of the picture. All I had was my camera phone and I was too hungry to try hunting down my camera.

This is a pantry staple for me. I make it whenever I am hungry and can’t decide what to eat, am in the mood for something different or am just in the mood for eel. Its a very simple food. White, short grain rice mixed with a splash of rice vinegar and canned/tinned roasted eel (bones removed) rolled into sheets of nori (roasted seaweed). When I have it or am thinking about it I like to toss in avocado and/or crab with the eel. Its got a very similar taste to teriyaki but its very good. Except when your co-worker tells you the smell of your lunch makes them want to vomit. Sigh.

For more info about sushi and all the proper terms see here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

